Skip to the content

Your Scientific Committee

EPICOH 2017 is supported by an exceptional scientific committee of leading scientists, academics and researchers. Our committee comprises expertise from all over the world and with over 30 eminent scientists our committee represents a very multi-disciplinary view of Epidemiology. Our Chair and Vice Chair are:-

Prof. Neil Pearce BSc DipSci DipORS PhD DSc


Neil Pearce is Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, and Director of the Centre for Global NCDs, at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. During 2000-2010 he was Director of the Centre for Public Health Research in the Research School of Public Health on the Massey University Wellington Campus.


Lin Fritschi

Prof. Lin Fritschi PhD, MBBS, FAFPHM

Vice Chair

Lin Fritschi is a cancer epidemiologist with a particular interest in occupational causes of cancer.  She has a medical degree from the University of Queensland, a doctorate in epidemiology from the Australian National University and is a Public Health Physician with the Royal Australasian College of Physicians.


Our Scientific Committee Members

We are delighted and grateful that the following EPICOH Members will participate as Members of our 2017 Scientific Committee:-

Raymond Agius

Igor Burstyn

David Coggon

Paul Cullinan

Paul Demers

Tim Driscoll

Rodney Ehrlich

Thomas Erren

Laura Beane Freeman

Neela Guha

Leon Guo

Johnni Hansen

Sergio Iavacoli

Kristina Jacobsson

Manolis Kogevinas

David Kriebel

Hans Kromhout

Andrea 't Mannetje

Anthony Newman-Taylor

Keith Palmer

Marie-Elise Parent

Angela Pesatori

David Richardson

Marc Schenker

Torben Sigsgaard

Malcolm Sim

Leslie Stayner

Jukka Takala

Kate Venables

Roel Vermeulen

Karen Walker-Bone



For the last seven years, Edinburgh has retained its position as the most popular UK city after London for hosting international association meetings.